top of page

2022 Ngaio Marsh Short Story Contest Winners

The Friends of Ngaio Marsh have announced the winners of the 2021 inaugural Ngaio Marsh Short Story award.

The Friends set up the competition to celebrate the legacy of Dame Ngaio as one of the original Queens of Crime and New Zealand’s foremost Crime Writer.

We received a fantastic range of submissions, and we’d like to thank everyone who participated. Writers were asked to take inspiration from the work of Dame Ngaio. Stories had to start with the opening line from the Ngaio Marsh novel Death in Ecstasy.

The competition was open to New Zealand residents.

The winners are:

· First Place - Wayne Hotu

· Second Place - Deryn Pittar

· Third Place - Bruce Miller

Congratulations to Wayne, Deryn and Bruce, and to everyone who put pen to paper.

Watch the announcement and hear the winning stories:


bottom of page